Monday, May 25th, 2020

CNN-News18 Announces the 11th Edition of ‘INDIAN OF THE YEAR’

Celebrating India’s most remarkable achievers in Business, Sports, Entertainment and Public Service 

INVC NEWS New Delhi, Mumbai, After ten splendid years of honouring individuals and organisations that embody the spirit of excellence, CNN-News18 is once again set to celebrate the iconic Indians who have made significant contribution to our society in 2017, with the 11th edition of ‘Indian of the Year’. This year, the winners will be felicitated in a glittering ceremony on 30th November, 2017 at Hotel Taj Diplomatic Enclave in New Delhi. The Awards will be graced by the likes of Virat Kohli, Captain of the Indian Cricket Team, Ravi Shastri, Head Coach of the Indian Cricket Team, Arun Jaitley, Minister of Finance & Corporate Affairs, Manushi Chhillar, the newly crowned Miss World, Actors Rajkkumar Rao, Varun Dhawan and more. Commenting on the announcement of the Awards, Radhakrishnan Nair, Managing Editor, CNN-News18, said, “The level of acceptance and success seen by ‘Indian of the Year’ fills me with immense pride. Each passing year gives us an opportunity to identify those rare individuals and organisations that have forged a blazing path in their chosen fields and we look forward to honour them this year.” The nominees listed under the categories this year are:- ·       Sports:  The Indian Women’s Cricket Team, PV Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth and Sunil Chhetri ·       Entertainment: Varun Dhawan, Team Baahubali 2: The Conclusion, Rajkummar Rao, Amit V Masurkar & Mayank Tewari of Newton fame ·       Business: Arundhati Bhattacharya, Former Chairman, State Bank of India, Siddhartha Lal, MD & CEO, Eicher Motors, Sanjiv Bajaj, MD, Bajaj Finserv and Acharya Balkrishna, Co-Founder and MD, Patanjali Ayurved ·       Public Service: Harman Singh Sidhu, Guneeta Singh Bhalla, The Team Responsible for Delhi’s Cracker Ban and Afroz Shah Other achievers will be awarded under the categories of Special Achievement, Outstanding Achievement, Special Jury and Lifetime Achievement. One individual/organisation is bestowed with the coveted ‘Indian of the Year’ Award for their indelible contribution to the society at large. Since its inception in the year 2006, CNN-News18’s flagship initiative ‘Indian of the Year’ has cemented its position as the biggest awards by a Television News Organization and has evolved as an institution of impeccable prestige and credibility. The award distinguishes itself by celebrating not only exemplary individuals and their achievements but also the ideas that have inspired a changing India and has impacted lives. The Awards adhere to a transparent and robust selection procedure led by the editorial team of the news channel. A list of nominees is drawn for each category, further leading to the final selection of winners. Over the years, the recipients of this prestigious Award have included the likes of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, NGO Stop Acid Attacks, Vishwanathan Anand, AR Rahman, Team Chandrayan, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, The Indian Space Research Organisation, Nobel Laureate Kailash Satyarthi, Sania Mirza, MC Mary Kom, SS Rajamouli, Deepika Padukone, Arvind Kejriwal, E. Sreedharan, Kangana Ranaut, and People of Chennai.



Users Comment