Close X
Thursday, April 22nd, 2021

Young scientists of India are the best bet, the best living example and, in fact : Dr. Jitendra singh

Dr. Jitendra singhINVC, Delhi, The 72nd foundation day of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) was observed here in New Delhi today at the CSIR-National Physical Laboratory (NPL) complex. Addressing the recipients of Young Scientists and Innovation Awards on the 72nd Foundation Day of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) here today, Dr. Jitendra Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences; MOS in PMO and Department of Space, said that the young scientists of India are the best bet, the best living example and, in fact, the "key" to the nation’s vision of “Make in India”. They are the most viable and resourceful persons to accomplish the goal of “Make in India” and our trust for future as well as our tryst with 21st century, he added. Describing the young scientists as the young ambassadors of young India which has more than 65% population below the age of 35, Dr. Jitendra Singh said that if India indeed has to achieve the abode objective of becoming a world super power in the next few years, it has to be essentially based on sound scientific foundation. In the years to come, even the economic strength of a nation will be determined by its scientific strength and capability, he added. Calling upon the teachers and parents to catch young innovative minds at the age of high-school before they enter into the conventional rat race for competitive exams, Dr. Jitendra Singh said that if we are able to identify, groom and own young boys and girls who have the potential to make future innovations, we will not only be enriching scientific research with the best talent but we would also be able to channelize our youngsters in the direction most suitable to their aptitude. In this respect, he cited the example of the then Vice Chancellor of Madras University and world renowned Gynecologist, Sir Dr. Lakshmanaswami Mudaliar, who is known to have rejected a university topper for opting for specialization in gynecology, because he believed that the young boy’s fingers and hands were not appropriate for carrying out the obstetric procedures perfectly and therefore, guided the youngster to opt for another stream of science in which he excelled. Referring to the achievements of the CSIR in the last few months, Dr. Jitendra Singh said not only has his Ministry decided to make it mandatory for over 5000 scientists in the government sector to give lectures and classes in schools and colleges, but also initiated new schemes for young women scientists in order to avoid mid-career exit of young women scientists for family or other reasons. CSIR today is ranked 81st among the 2740 such institutions world-wide and in the times to come, we wish to bring into centre stage of focus the incredible scientific feats of this Institution, he added. The  CSIR Young Scientist Award 2014 was given in the areas of Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences, Engineering Sciences and Physical Sciences (including instrumentation). The  Biological Sciences Award for 2014 was given to Rajender Singh  of CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow for his outstanding contribution in understanding the role of aldose reductase in male fertility, which may lead to development of novel molecules for contraception. The another Biological Sciences Award for 2014 was given to Dr. Vivek T.Natarajan of  CSIR-CSIR Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi  for his outstanding contribution in Skin Biology. His work identified a critical role IFN-y in pigmentation and has relevance to future therapeutic approaches. The CSIR young Scientist Award for the year 2014 was given to Dr. Parvinder Pal Singh of CSIR-Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine (IIIM), Jammu for his significant contribution in developing iron-based C-H functionalization/activation methods and their application towards the synthesis of bioactive molecules. The CSIR young Scientist Award for the year 2014 was given to Dr V Ganesh of CSIR-Central Electrochemical Research Institute (CERI), Karaikudi, for his significant contribution in the modulation of electron transport across electrode-electrolyte interfaces of meal and semiconductor electrodes, in electrocatalysis and in the area of biosensors. The Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences Award 2014 was given to Dr. Sumit Kumar Mishra of CSIR-National Physical Laboratory (NPL) , New Delhi, for his original contribution in the areas of optical properties of dust aerosols in the atmosphere. Utilizing the numerical modelling techniques and experimental observations for characterization of the aerosol morphology and complex mixing states, he estimated  the radiative forcing effect,  which will help to improve the regional radiation budget and its impact on climate change assessment. The Engineering Sciences Award 2014 was given to Dr. Manmohan Dass Goel of CSIR-Advanced Materials and Processes Research Institute Bhopal (AMPRI), for his outstanding and original contribution in the area of “Blast Response of Structures and its Mitigation using Advanced Lightweight Materials” The research presented design and development of different innovative structural components that can be used as blast resistant structure. The Physical Sciences Awards (including instrumentation) 2014 was given to Shri N Selvankumar of CSIR-National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL), Bengaluru, for his outstanding contribution in preparation and characterization of solar selective coating using novel materials. The CSIR young Scientist Award for the year 2014 was given to Dr Ved Varun Agrawal of CSIR-National Physical Laboratory(NPL), New Delhi for his outstanding contribution to the development of biosensors for the detection of total cholesterol and food toxins. Each award consists of a citation, a cash prize of Rs.50,000/-(Fifty Thousand) only  and a plaque. CSIR Young Scientist Awards are also entitled to a research grant of Rs.5.0 Lakhs per annum for a period of five years and an honorarium of Rs.7500-00/ per month till the age of 45 years. Till 2013, 163 scientists including (21 women scientists) have received the CSIR  Young Scientist Award and out of these 16 scientists have been conferred with the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize.  For the year 2014, Advisory Committee consisting of eminent scientists recommended the following eight scientists for the CSIR young Scientist Awards. This Award was instituted in 2004 in the fond memory of Prof. G.N Ramchandran, a pioneer of Protein chemistry and the founding father of  structural biology in India, for recognizing excellence in the interdisciplinary subject/field of Biological Science & Technology. and Prof. Dula Panda (2012). In the category of CSIR technology award for physical sciences including engineering 2014, was given to CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (CSIR-IICT), Hyderabad for developing the process of Misoprostol-a drug useful for medical abortion. The CSIR technology award for innovation- 2014 given to CSIR-Indian institute of Petroleum (CSIR-IIP), Dehradun for developing a process for simultaneous production of U.S grade gasoline and high purity benzene from C6 heart cut of FCC gasoline. The CSIR Technology Awards for Business Development & Technology Marketing 2014 was given to CSIR-Institute of Microbial Technology (CSIR-IMTECH), Chandigarh for significantly enhancing the business and markets of its knowledge. The CSIR Technology Awards for most Significant CSIR Technology of the Five Year Plan Period 2014 CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory (CSIR-NML), Jamshedpur for the development and commercialization of column flotation technology for the beneficiation of low-grade mineral deposits.



Users Comment