Murtaza Kidwayi

 New Delhi. Power Ministers of all States and Union Territories will meet in New Delhi on Tuesday the 23rd of June, 2009. The meeting convened by Union Minister of Power, Shri Sushilkumar Shinde, will deliberate upon the critical issues related to massive generation capacity addition programme of 78,700 MW in the 11th Plan, strengthening of sub-transmission and distribution system through Accelerated Power Development and Reforms Programme (APDRP) and Rural Electrification through Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana (RGGVY).

Besides MoS Power, Shri Bharatsinh Solanki, the meeting is likely to be attended by Union Minister for New and Renewable Energy, Dr. Farooq Abdullah, Union Minister for Petroleum Shri Murli Deora, Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission, Dr. Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Minister of State for Coal (IC), Shri Sriprakash Jaiswal and Minister of State for Environment & Forests (IC), Shri Jairam Ramesh. About 200 delegates including the Power Ministers and Power Secretaries of various States and UTs and representatives of Central and State Power Utilities are expected to participate in the meeting.

The daylong discussions will be divided into two sessions. The first session is to focus on Generation and Open Access while the agenda for the Second Session would be Rural Electrification and APDRP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here