Minister for Information & Broadcasting Shri Manish Tewari has said that the changing paradigm in the media space has taken place due to the technological innovations in the media domain. Both the regulatory framework and human ingenuity have not kept pace with the technological innovations. I the current scenario, self regulation was the best way forward with the participation and partnership of key stakeholders. The Minister stated this while delivering his address at the commemoration of the National Press Day organized by Press Council of India.  Elaborating further, the Minister said, that in view of the challenges that had emerged, there was need for constant introspection so that the self regulation process could be taken forward. The Constitution of India under Article 19 provides for the freedom of speech and expression, from where the media drew its strength.  The Press Council of India has instituted National Awards to honour journalists excelling in print journalism in various fields were given during the occasion. These awards were given today to encourage the media to pursue its duties following the dictum of ‘freedom with responsibility’.  There is one main Award in honour of one of the greatest reformer journalists of the country, ‘Raja Ram Mohan Roy National Award for Excellence in Journalism’ and carries a cash award of Rupees One Lakh, a plaque and a citation. Other awards are in the fields of Rural Journalism, Developmental Reporting, Women Empowerment, Indian Language Reporting, Photo-Journalism etc., carry Rupees fifty thousand each, a plaque and a citation.  This year’s awardees include Damayanti Datta, Priyanka Dubey, R. Samban, Rajesh Parshuram Joshte, Razia Begum, Biplab Banerjee, Lattur Rathinam Shankar, Partha Paul, Kamal Kishore, Sanjoy Ghosh, Zishaan Akbar Latif and Hasan Kamaal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here