On the demand of Himachal Pradesh Government, the Rhesus Macaque (Macaca mulatta) monkeys have been declared as vermin in 38 tehsils of 10 districts of the State for a period of one year by the Government of India.

The tehsils included in the list are Chamba,  Dalhousie, Bhatiyat and Sihunta of Chamba district, Nurpur, Indora, Fatehpur, Jawali, Kangra, Palampur and Baroh of Kangra district, Bharwain, Amb, Una, Haroli and Bangana of Una district, Ghumarwin, Nainadevi, Bilaspur Sadar and Namhol of Bilaspur district, Shimla Rural, Rampur and Nerwa of Shimla district, Pachhad, Rajgarh, Renuka, Shillai and Kamrau of Sirmaur district, Manali, Kullu and Sainj in Kullu district, Badsar and Bijhari in Hamirpur district, Nalagarh, Kasauli, Solan and Darlaghat in Solan district and Sundernagar tehsil of Mandi district.

As per the notification issued by the Union Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, the forest areas of the State have been excluded from Schedule V of the Wildlife (Protection) Act.

The State Government has demanded the Government of India to declare Rhesus Macaque monkeys as vermin keeping in view the damage to life and property including large scale destruction of agriculture.

Forest Minister Shri Thakur Singh Bharmouri alongwith Vice Chairman, State Forest Development Corporation Shri Kewal Singh Pathania today had a meeting with the senior officers of Union Environment Ministry. They thanked the Government of India for declaring these monkeys as vermin and this decision would go a long way in mitigating the damage to human life, crops and other properties of the State.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here