PM dedicates the New Parliament Building to the Nation, in New Delhi on May 28, 2023.
PM dedicates the New Parliament Building to the Nation, in New Delhi on May 28, 2023.

New Delhi – :The new Parliament House was recently dedicated to the nation by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The inauguration ceremony was held with great pomp and splendor, marked by Vedic rituals and a Sarva Dharma prayer. The esteemed presence of Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla added significance to the occasion. This article delves into the details of the inauguration, the reactions of various political parties, and the symbolic importance of the new Parliament House.


The inauguration of the new Parliament House marks a significant milestone in India’s democratic journey. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, renowned for his transformative vision, took the initiative to establish this new architectural marvel. The dedication of the building with Vedic rituals and Sarva Dharma prayer underscores the essence of unity and inclusivity that the Parliament represents.

Boycott by Opposition Parties

However, despite the grandeur of the occasion, some opposition parties chose to boycott the inauguration ceremony. The Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Trinamool Congress, and Samajwadi Party were among those who abstained from attending. On the other hand, parties like the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) expressed their support for the event. This divergence in opinions reflects the political polarization surrounding the new Parliament building.

Seating Arrangements

The new Parliament House boasts impressive seating arrangements, accommodating 888 members in the Lok Sabha and 384 members in the Rajya Sabha. This expansion allows for the representation of a larger and more diverse range of voices in the legislative process. The seating arrangements serve as a testament to the evolving nature of Indian democracy.

Inauguration Ceremony

The inauguration ceremony commenced with a puja, a traditional Hindu worship ritual, which lasted for about an hour. Prime Minister Modi, along with Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, participated in the havan-puja with utmost reverence and devotion. The air resonated with the enchanting sound of Vedic mantras as the sacred fire flickered, symbolizing the new beginning for the country’s legislative landscape. The havan-puja program was a powerful demonstration of the deep-rooted spiritual and cultural traditions that underpin Indian society.

Worship of Sengol

Following the completion of the havan, Prime Minister Modi paid homage to Sengol, an object of veneration. Sengol holds immense significance in Tamil culture and symbolizes prosperity and well-being. After the installation of Sengol in the Parliament House, Prime Minister Modi sought the blessings of Adhyanam saints from Tamil Nadu. This act of worship and reverence demonstrates the harmonious blending of diverse cultural elements within the new Parliament building.

Unique Materials and Symbolism

The construction of the new Parliament House involved the collection of unique materials from various parts of the country. Teak wood from Nagpur, sandstone from Sarmathura in Rajasthan, carpet from Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh, bamboo wood from Agartala, and the Ashoka symbol from Aurangabad and Jaipur in Maharashtra were used to create this architectural marvel. This integration of materials from different regions symbolizes the unity and diversity of India.

A Proud Day for the Country

Prime Minister Modi’s arrival inside the new Parliament House to install Sengol in the Lok Sabha was met with enthusiasm and excitement. He expressed his immense pride in witnessing this historic moment for the country. To commemorate the occasion, Prime Minister Modi also unveiled a new coin worth Rs 75, which features an image of the new Parliament House. This coin, minted exclusively for this event, will serve as a tangible reminder of this significant milestone.

Presence of Dignitaries

The Sarvadharma Sabha, a gathering of dignitaries from various backgrounds, added further significance to the inauguration ceremony. Prime Minister Modi, along with cabinet ministers and chief ministers from different states, participated in this all-religion congregation. Religious leaders from Buddhist, Jain, Parsi, Sikh, and other faiths offered their prayers, fostering an environment of harmony and inclusivity.

Sarvadharma Sabha

The Sarvadharma Sabha not only included prayers but also involved scholars and teachers from different religions who shared their thoughts on their respective faiths. It was a platform to promote interfaith dialogue and understanding, showcasing India’s rich cultural tapestry. Prime Minister Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, and the entire Union Cabinet were present during this auspicious occasion.

Recognition of Workers

In recognition of their efforts, Prime Minister Modi honored the workers involved in the construction of the new Parliament House. Their dedication and craftsmanship brought the vision of a modern and functional legislative complex to life. Their tireless work deserves appreciation and acknowledgment as they have contributed to the shaping of India’s future.


The inauguration of the new Parliament House by Prime Minister Narendra Modi marks a defining moment in India’s democratic journey. The dedication ceremony, with its Vedic rituals and Sarva Dharma prayer, symbolizes unity and inclusivity. The boycott by some opposition parties highlights the polarization in Indian politics. The seating arrangements, puja, worship of Sengol, and the presence of dignitaries reflect the diverse fabric of Indian society. The new Parliament House stands as a testament to India’s progress, symbolizing democracy, unity, and the country’s rich cultural heritage.


1. What is the new Parliament House dedicated to? The new Parliament House is dedicated to the nation, symbolizing India’s progress and democratic values.

2. Which opposition parties boycotted the inauguration? The Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Trinamool Congress, and Samajwadi Party boycotted the inauguration ceremony.

3. How many members can the new Lok Sabha accommodate? The new Lok Sabha can accommodate 888 members.

4. What rituals were performed during the inauguration ceremony? The inauguration ceremony involved a puja, a havan, and the worship of Sengol.

5. Who were the dignitaries present in the Sarvadharma Sabha? The Sarvadharma Sabha witnessed the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, cabinet ministers, and chief ministers from different states, along with religious leaders from various faiths.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here