Close X
Saturday, January 16th, 2021

PMJVK scheme is to improve the socio economic conditions

Haryana Chief Secretary Vijai Vardhan has directed the officers to select study material meticulously for candidates preparing for various competitive exams for the district and block level libraries in the State. Apart from this, he directed to expand the reading hours of libraries so that maximum people can avail its benefits.

Haryana Chief Secretary, Mr. Vijai Vardhan was presiding over the meeting of the State Level Committee constituted for the Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) here today.

In the meeting, various projects worth about Rs 35 crore under this scheme were sanctioned for 15 blocks of seven minority identified districts namely Palwal, Fatehabad, Mewat, Kaithal, Kurukshetra, Yamunanagar and Sirsa. The projects approved included the construction of women hostels in Mewat Engineering College in Nuh block, a community centre and 3 dispensaries in Pehwa block, toilets (boys and girls) in 86 schools, 105 sheds for working of  self-help group (SHG), Anganwadi Centres, library and gym equipment and mats at gymnasium in Hathin block. Apart from this, he also directed the District Deputy Commissioners to work on new innovative projects.

In the meeting, the Chief Secretary said that tablets are to be distributed to the students of minority communities by the School Education Department for imparting education during the corona pandemic. These tablets should be given on priority basis in these 15 blocks of minority communities. He said that the objective of PMJVK scheme is to improve the socio economic conditions of the minorities. The scheme is being implemented where at least 25 percent of the total population falls under minority category. Under this scheme, 33 percent to 40 percent of resources are allocated exclusively for women-centric projects. In addition to this, 80 percent of the resources have been earmarked for projects related to education, health and skill development, he added.

Among those present in the meeting included Additional Chief Secretary, Public Works (Building and Roads) Department, Mr. Alok Nigam, Additional Chief Secretary, Women and Child Development Department, Mr. Amit Jha, Additional Chief Secretary, Finance and Planning Departments, Mr. T.V.S.N. Prasad, Principal Secretary, Development and Panchayats Department, Mr. Sudhir Rajpal, Principal Secretary, Higher Education Department, Mr. Ankur Gupta, Principal Secretary, Skill Development & Industrial Training Development, Mr. Vineet Garg, Director General, Elementary Education and Secretary, School Education Department, Mr. Nitin Yadav, Director General, Higher Education Department, Mr. Ajit Balaji Joshi and other senior officers.



Users Comment