Monday, March 30th, 2020

Plantation is an important goal

Haryana has taken initiative to take further the Jal Shakti vision of Prime Minister, Mr. Narendra Modi and in this series, it has been decided to launch Special Water Conservation Campaign in 81 Dark Zone blocks of the 19 districts of the state from July 1 to September 15, 2019, which will be run later in the entire state.

          This information was given in the meeting of State Level Monitoring Committee constituted for Jal Shakti campaign under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary, Mrs. Keshni Anand Arora, here today.

          Mrs. Keshni Anand Arora said that under the flagship scheme of the Government of India, Jal Shakti Abhiyan, rainwater will be collected and recharging of ground water will be done. Apart from this, water will also be conserved by installing digital water meters.

          She said that in order to make the campaign successful in the state, there is a need for quick planning and speedy implementation for which various sub-committees have been constituted. She said that a sub-committee has been constituted under Principal Secretary, Irrigation Department for water conservation and storage of rainwater, and renewal of traditional and other water bodies/tanks, and block and district water conservation scheme. Another sub-committee has been constituted under Secretary, Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Department for re-use and borwell recharge structure and a sub-committee for intensive forestation under Principal Secretary, Forests Department.

          Mrs Arora said that plantation is also an important goal under the Jal Shakt Campaign, which would have to be completed soon. She directed the officers to promote plantation of trees in three urban local bodies namely Gurugram, Faridabad and Karnal. Apart from this, with an estimate of 500 plants for every village, a target has been set to plant 30 lakh saplings in the rural areas of the state.

          It was informed in the meeting that for the recharging of ground water, such bore wells will be checked in the next few days, which can be recharged. For this, a target of 100 borewells has been fixed for every district. It was decided in the meeting that digital water meters will be installed on the tube wells of the Panchayat and Public Health Engineering Department to save water. For this, Central Controlling Station will be set up at the block level.

          Mrs Arora said that the way, it is mandatory to set up Rooftop Rainwater Harvesting Systems at rooftop of new buildings at the time of the construction, in the same way, it should be made mandatory for older buildings so that the maximum water storage is possible.

It was informed by the Urban Local Bodies Department that by changing the guidelines of AMRUT scheme by the Government of India, storage of rain water, restoration of reservoirs and plantation has been included in 17 cities of the state. The Department also informed that in Gurugram, the Municipal Corporation has empanelled agencies through which Rainwater Harvesting Systems are being constructed and maintained in buildings, and people are also adopting this model at a broader level. Now, this model will also be implemented in other urban local bodies of the state.

          It was also informed in the meeting that 4,000 ponds connected with canals will be restored. The capacity of these ponds will be increased so that more water can be collected in them.

          Mrs. Keshni Anand Arora said that the students of schools and colleges should be associated with the Jal Shakti campaign so that they could also be made aware of saving water. She said that a day may be decided to administer oath of water conservation in schools. Simultaneously, NGOs should also be associated in this campaign and made aware about conservation of water.

          Additional Chief Secretary of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Department, Mrs. Navraj Sandhu, Additional Chief Secretary, Public Works (Building and Roads), Mr. Alok Nigam, Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Department, Mr. T.V.S.N. Prasad, Principal Secretary, Development and Panchayats Department, Mr. Sudhir Rajpal, Principal Secretary, Irrigation Department, Mr. Anurag Rastogi, Principal Secretary, Urban Local Bodies Department, Mr. Anand Mohan Sharan, Principal Secretary, Town and Country Planning and Urban Estates Department, Mr. Apoorva Kumar Singh, Director General, Information, Public Relations and Language Department Mr. Sameer Pal Srow and other senior officers.




Users Comment