Tuesday, July 7th, 2020

NRLM will play a great role in this endeavour : Pradeep Jain



Union Minister of State for Rural Development Shri Pradeep Jain said that the Government is committed to poverty elimination through social mobilization and the National Rural Livelihoods Mission, NRLM will play a great role in this endeavour. Addressing a meeting of Parliamentary Consultative Committee on NRLM attached to his Ministry here last evening, Shri jain said, the scheme will target 7 crore rural poor households and will remain engaged with them till they come out of abject poverty. The erstwhile Swarnjayanti Swarozgar Yojana, SGSY restructured as NRLM in June last year has been named as Aajeevika and it will be implemented in a phased manner starting with 150 districts and 600 blocks with an outlay of 3915 crore rupees for 2012-2013. Shri Jain said, SGSY that commenced in 1999 faced several shortcomings during implementation but it also threw up successful models in some States like Andhra Pradesh and Kerala and the same will be replicated in other states through self-help groups. The New Initiatives under NRLM are Himayat in Jammu and Kashmir, where one lakh youth will be given jobs in five years after skill development programmes. Moreover, three lakh youths will be targeted through special initiative in the naxal-affected districts and the third one is Bharat Rural Livelihoods Foundation for supporting civil society initiatives in Central Indian Tribal Belt. Addressing the meeting, Secretary Rural Development S.Vijay Kumar said 10 lakh families will be benefitted by Aajeevika in the 12th Five Year Plan and added that greater reliance will be put on Community best practitioners and Community Professionals. He, however, admitted that poor families face difficulties in getting loans from the banks except in Southern States, where the poor self help groups of women had presented successful enterprises. The meeting was attended by Ministers of State Shri Sisir Adhikari, Ms Agatha Sangma and senior officials of the Ministry of Rural Development. The members, who attended the meeting include Ms. Annu Tandon, Sardarni Harsimarat Kaur Badal, Shri Jairam Pangi, Shri Lal Chand Kataria, Shri Narayan Singh Amlabe, Shri Pradeep Tamta, Dr. Tarun Mandal, Shri Manik Rao H Gavit, Shri Baliram Jadhav, Dr Ramashankar (All from Lok Sabha) and Dr. Vijaylaxmi Sadho from Rajya Sabha.



Users Comment