New Delhi – : The southwest monsoon, which was stuck over Andaman and Nicobar Islands since May 19, gained momentum on May 29. Rains are likely to start in most parts of the country from June 15. According to the Meteorological Department, moving at a normal pace, the monsoon should have crossed the Andaman and Nicobar Islands from May 22 to 26 and moved further into the Bay of Bengal, but it reached that position on May 31. So it is running about a week late than usual.

Looking at the speed of monsoon, it is estimated that on June 1, monsoon rains will start in Kerala and Tamil Nadu, by June 5 in Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Northeast. Monsoon will reach Maharashtra and Telangana by June 10. Monsoon rains will begin in most parts of Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh from June 15. From June 20, it will rain till Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Himachal and Jammu-Kashmir. This phase of monsoon will continue till July 8.

According to the Meteorological Department, a cyclonic circulation is present over North Pakistan at middle and upper tropospheric levels. At the same time, cyclone induced winds are blowing at the lower level of the troposphere over Punjab, due to which the condition of Western Disturbance is maintained. Apart from this, cyclonic winds are also running in the lower levels of the troposphere over South-West Rajasthan and adjoining Pakistan and Madhya Pradesh. After this, from June 1, another Western Disturbance will start in the North-West, which will maintain the pace of Monsoon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here