New Delhi ,

Ministry of Defence (MoD) has approved setting up of wayside amenities at 75 locations in 12 States/Union Territories on different sections of roads with Border Roads Organisation (BRO). These are intended to provide basic amenities & comfort to the tourists and lead to boosting of economic activities in border areas, besides generating employment for the local people. These wayside amenities will be branded as ‘BRO Cafes’.

 The BRO has its reach in the remotest border areas and besides addressing strategic needs, it has been instrumental in socio-economic upliftment of the Northern and Eastern borders. This has resulted in increased tourist influx in these scenic locations, hitherto inaccessible. In order to provide conducive and comfortable transit of tourists on these roads located at harsh climatic and geographical conditions, the need to establish multi-utility wayside amenities along the major tourist circuits in these regions was recognised. Since the inaccessibility and remoteness of these roads preclude widespread commercial deployments, the BRO, by virtue of its presence, took it upon itself to open such facilities at remote places.

The scheme provides for development and operation of wayside amenities in public private partnership mode with agencies, on license basis, which will design, build & operate the facility as per guidelines of BRO. Amenities like parking for two and four wheelers, food plaza/ restaurant, separate rest rooms for men, women and differently abled, first aid facilities/MI Rooms etc. are proposed to be provided. Selection of licencees will be done through a competitive process.

The terms of the agreement will be for 15 years which may be further extended for a period up to five years. The location of 75 BRO Cafes is as under:

S No State Roads
1 Arunachal Pradesh Daporijo Bame Koloriang Pasighat Menchuka
Moying Thumbin Yinkiong Tippi Durga Mandir
Km 79 Tenga Rama Camp SelaTop Tawang
Jengthu Hayuliang Wakro Changwinti  
2 Assam TezpurTown BP Tinali      
3 Himachal Pradesh Km 8.5 Km .5 Km 11.8 Sissu Manali
Kharo Sumdo      
4 Jammu & Kashmir TeePee Tragbal Hussaingaon Km 95 Km 117.90
Km 58 Galhar Siot Bathuni Budhal
Kapotha Surankot      
5 Ladakh Matiyan Kargil Mulbek Khaltse Leh
Hunder Choglamsar Rumtse Debring Pang
Sarchu Agham Nyoma Hanle  
6 Manipur Km 0        
7 Nagaland Jakhama        
8 Punjab Fazilka,


9  Rajasthan


Tanot Dett Km 44.40 Sadhuwali Vill.


Birdhwal Arjansar
10 Sikkim Kupup Dett        
11 Uttarakhand Darkot Km 61 Km 57.44 Bhaironghati Birahi
Gwaldham Pandukeshwar Manera bypass Nagni Kamand
Majri grant        
12 West Bengal Melli        



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here