Joe Biden
Joe Biden

Washington – : A powerful US Congressional committee has recommended India’s inclusion in ‘NATO Plus’ even as Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to visit the US next month. NATO Plus, or NATO Plus 5, is a security arrangement that brings together NATO and the five alliance nations Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, and South Korea to enhance global defense cooperation.


In a significant development, a US Congressional committee has put forth a recommendation for India’s inclusion in ‘NATO Plus.’ This comes at a crucial time as Prime Minister Narendra Modi is slated to embark on a state visit to the United States in the coming month. The ‘NATO Plus’ alliance, also referred to as ‘NATO Plus 5,’ is a robust security arrangement that aims to foster collaboration and fortify global defense cooperation among its member nations.

Understanding ‘NATO Plus’

‘NATO Plus’ brings together NATO, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, and five prominent countries, namely Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, and South Korea. The primary objective of this security alliance is to strengthen collective defense measures, promote regional stability, and enhance security frameworks.

Importance of India’s Inclusion

India’s inclusion in ‘NATO Plus’ would facilitate seamless sharing of intelligence and foster close cooperation between India and the other member nations. This move would empower India with access to modern military technology without encountering any significant time lag. Such access would bolster India’s defense capabilities and enable it to effectively address emerging security challenges.

Recommendation by the House Select Committee

The House Select Committee on Strategic Competition between the US and the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) played a pivotal role in proposing the inclusion of India in ‘NATO Plus.’ Under the chairmanship of Mike Gallagher and with Raja Krishnamurthy as the Ranking Member.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here