New Delhi,
A delegation representing task force of “European Organization for Nuclear Research”, known in French as “Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire” (CERN) called on the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh here today and discussed with him wide range of issues of mutual interest including the status of application put in by the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India, recently for the associate membership of CERN.

CERN is the world’s largest body of experts in nuclear and particle physics, where scientists and engineers are probing the fundamental structure of universe by using the most sophisticated scientific instruments and advanced systems. CERN was established in 1954 and is based in Geneva. Significantly, CERN is the birthplace of “www” (World Wide Web) which is regularly used to browse the internet. Similarly, the touch screen widely used in smartphones was also first developed by CERN.

Indian Scientists from the Departments of Atomic Energy and Science & Technology have been actively participating and collaborating with CERN and an application to become associated member of the body was mooted by the Government in August 2015. The major advantage of the associate membership of CERN is that this will entitle India to become a part of huge scientific and technological endeavour. This will also offer an opportunity to Indian industry to bid for CERN contracts for industrial collaboration in advanced technologies.

Speaking to members of the delegation, Dr Jitendra Singh said, with the Indian scientists today having emerged as world leaders in research and innovation, a formal membership of CERN will provide both the sides an opportunity to exchange technical knowhow and at the same time, propose new experiments with mutual help. He stressed the need for a synergy between industry, research institutes and academia to work and deliver jointly for the successful outcome of any scientific project.

Prominent among those who comprised the delegation were Ms. Charlotte Warakaulle, Olivier Martin, Dr. Eckhard Elsen, Dr. Rüdiger Voss, Dr. Maurizio Vretenar and Sue Foffano.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here