Haryana Government imposes Weekend Lockdown in Nine districts


As  COVID-19 Pandemic is again posing threat to public health, Haryana Government while considering the need of taking effective measures to prevent its spread in the State has imposed weekend lockdown in nine districts of the State namely, Panchkula, Gurugram, Faridabad, Sonipat, Rohtak, Karnal, Hisar, Sirsa and Fatehabad.

         As per the orders issued by the Chief Secretary, Sh. Vijai Vardhan who is also the Chairperson of, State Executive Committee the weekend lockdown will come into force from 10:00 PM on April 30, 2021 (Friday) till 05:00 AM on May 3, 2021 (Monday).  The lockdown has been imposed in exercise of the powers under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

         Any person violating these containment measures will be liable to be proceeded against as per the provisions of Section 51 to 60 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, besides legal action under Sec. 188 of the IPC and other legal provisions as applicable.

         Sharing more details in this regard, an official spokesperson said that during the lockdown the residents must stay indoors during the lockdown period. No person shall leave their homes or shall move on foot or by vehicle or travel or stand or roam around on any road or public places during the above said hours.

Movement of persons and certain services to be exempted

The spokesperson said that despite the lockdown orders, the movement of persons and services who shall be exempted include those tasked with law and order, emergencies and municipal services, duties including Executive Magistrates, Police personnel, Military/ C.A.P.F. personnel in uniform, health, electricity, fire, media persons with accreditation and Government machinery tasked with COVID-19 related duties (all on production of Identity Card).

 He said that movement for appearing in the examination and those on examination duties on production of admit/ identity cards.

         Furthermore, there shall be no curbs on those engaged in the manufacture of essential goods. There shall be no curbs on movement (inter-State and intra-State) of essential and non-essential goods.

         The spokesperson said that all vehicles or persons in bonafide transit (interState or intra-State) shall be allowed to pass, but only after verification of point of origin and destination.

Medical establishments to remain open

The spokesperson said that Hospitals, Veterinary Hospitals and all related medical establishments, including their manufacturing and distribution units, both in the public and private sector, such as dispensaries, chemist, Pharmacies (including Jan Aushadhi Kendra) and medical equipment shops, laboratories, Pharmaceutical research labs, clinics, nursing homes, ambulance etc. will continue to remain functional.

         He further informed that transportation for all medical personnel, nurses, para-medical staff, other hospital support services be permitted.

Telecommunications and internet service to remain functional

The spokesperson said that as per the orders, the Telecommunications, internet services, broadcasting and cable services. IT and IT-enabled Services, delivery of all essential goods including food, pharmaceuticals, medical equipment etc. through E-commerce would be exempted.

         Apart from this, petrol pumps, LPG, Petroleum and gas retail and storage outlets, power generation, transmission and distribution units and services,  cold storage and warehousing services, private security services, farming operations by farmers and farmworkers in the field and ATM are also exempted, informed the spokesman.

         He said that restaurants, eating places, hotels including food joints and courts in various malls can remain open only for home delivery.

         The spokesman said that intra and inter-state movement of harvesting and sowing related machines like combined harvester and other agriculture and horticulture implements.

         The passengers going to or returning from airport or railway station or I.S.B.T or  Bus stations shall be exempted.

Prescribed gathering limit at social functions to be followed

The spokesperson informed that all marriage functions which have taken prior permission from the concerned District Magistrates or officers authorized by them shall be allowed to subject to the limit of a maximum of 50 per cent of the hall capacity with a ceiling of 30 persons in indoor spaces and with the ceiling of 50 persons in open spaces.

         Meanwhile, wherever exceptions to above containment measures have been allowed, the organizations or employers must ensure necessary precautions against the COVID-19 virus, as well as social distance measures, as advised by the Health Department from time to time.

Industrial Units to mandatorily apply on Saral Haryana portal

         The spokesperson said that all the Industrial units, enterpenures concerns are directed to mandatorily apply on Saralharyana portal (https://saralharayana.gov.in) by providing necessary details to generate requisite passes for the employees or staff.

         In addition to this, all enforcing authorities should ensure that these strict restrictions fundamentally relate to the movement of people, but not to that of essential goods. However, the movements of all essential goods are allowed.

Executive Magistrate deployed as Incident Commanders

The spokesperson said that to implement these containment measures, the District Magistrate area deploy Executive Magistrate as Incident Commanders in the respective local jurisdictions.

         The Incident Commander will be responsible for the overall implementation of these measures in their respective jurisdictions.

         All other line department officials in the specified area will work under the directions of such Incident Commander. Besides this, the Incident Commander will issue passes for enabling essential movements as explained.

         The spokesperson further said that a letter in this regard has been issued by the Chief Secretary, to   Administrative Secretaries, Director General of Police and Deputy Commissioners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here