Close X
Monday, January 17th, 2022

Govt. committed for adequate nutrition to mothers and children

While presiding over the felicitation and award function under "Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao" campaign and POSHAN Abhiyan organized by the Directorate of Women and Child Development, Department of Social Justice and Empowerment here today Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur said that the India was forging ahead fast in 21st Century, but a large population of the country was still devoid of proper nutritional diet.

The Chief Minister said that Himachal Pradesh had made commendable progress in ensuring proper diet and nutrition to the infants, lactating and expectant mothers. The credit for this goes to effective functioning of Women and Child Welfare Directorate, Panchayati Raj institutions and other organizations at the grass root level.

Jai Ram Thakur said that the POSHAN campaign was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Jhunjhunu in Rajasthan during March last year. The government is endeavouring to ensure a healthy nation by providing nutritious diet to the infants. He said that Shimla, Una, Kangra and Kullu districts of Himachal Pradesh have won national level awards in effective implementation of ‘Beti Bachao, Beti Padao’ campaign for the year 2018-19.

The Chief Minister said that keeping in view the hard work rendered by the Anganwari workers, the State Government was providing additional honorarium of Rs. 1800 to Anganwari workers, Rs. 1100 to mini Anganwari workers and Rs. 900 to sahayikas per month. He said that State Government had also made a provision of 25 percent in the recruitment and promotion Rules for promotion from supervisors to Child Development Project Officers so that maximum promotion avenues could be ensured for Supervisors.

He distributed cash prizes of Rs. 5.25 lakh to specially abled children who won medals in Special Olympics World Summer Games held at Abu Dhabi in March, 2019. He presented cash award of Rs. 1.25 lakh to Raghunath Singh from Una district and rupees one lakh to Shubham from Bilaspur district for cycling, Rs. 75000 to Nisha Dhawan from Mandi district for athletics, Rs. 75000 to Pooja Kumari from Bilaspur district for power lifting, Rs. 50000 each to Vinod Kumar and Abhishek Kumar from Mandi district for volleyball and Rs. 50000 to Chirag from Mandi district for basketball.  

The Chief Minister also honoured Additional Chief Secretary, Social Justice and Empowerment Nisha Singh, ACS Health R.D Dhiman and Secretary Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Dr. R.N Batta for their contribution in implementation of Poshan Abhiyan in the state.

He hounoured Deputy Commissioner Shimla, Amit Kashyap, DC Una Sandeep Kumar, DC Kullu Dr. Richa Verma and DC Kangra  Rakesh Prajapati for outstanding achievement of these districts under Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao campaign.

He also honoured Director Rural Development Rakesh Kanwar, Director Industries Hans Raj Sharma, Director, ESOMSA Hans Raj Chauhan and Special Secretary, Finance Rajesh Sharma. Besides, Anganwari workers, Sahayikas and ICDS centres were also honoured for their contribution for effective implementation of under Poshan Abhiyan in the state.

Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Dr. Rajiv Saizal said that the State Government under the dynamic leadership of Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur was committed for welfare of weaker sections of the society. He said that the State Government during the last over one and half years had launched several innovative welfare schemes for socio-economic upliftment of vulnerable sections of the society.

Additional Chief Secretary, Social Justice and Empowerment Nisha Singh said that three districts of the State including Shimla, Sirmour and Mandi had been awarded with National awards for commendable works under "Beti Padhao, Beti Bachao" and "Poshan" programmes. She said that seven students of the State have won medals during the Special Olympics World Summer Games held at Abu Dhabi from 14 to 21 March this year. She also made a power point presentation on various activities of the department.

Director Women and Child Development Department Kritika Kulhari presented vote of thanks.

Mayor Kusum Sadrate, Chairperson State Women Commission Dr. Daizi Thakur, General Secretary, Child Welfare Council Payal Vaidya, Vice Chairperson, Saksham Gudiya Board Rupa Sharma, Chairperson, H.P. Child Commission for Protection of Child Rights Vandana Kumari, Secretary,  IPH and Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Dr. R.N. Batta, Director, Agriculture Rakesh Kanwar, Special Secretary, Finance Rajesh Sharma were also present on the occasion among others.




Users Comment