The Special Judge for CBI cases, Dehradun has convicted the then four Police Constables of Uttrakhand i.e. Madan Singh; Jitender Kumar; Yashveer Singh & Jaipal Singh U/s 304/34, 308/34, 201/34 of IPC in a case relating to Uttrakhand agitation and sentenced them to undergo seven years Rigorous Imprisonment with a fine of Rs.15,000/-each. Besides, the victim is to be paid Rs.20,000/-as compensation and Rs.10,000/-each to other two injured persons.

            The Central Bureau of Investigation had registered a case on 25.01.1995 U/s 147,148, 307 & 302 of IPC on the orders of Allahabad High Court in Civil Writ Petition No.32982/94 filed by Uttrakhand Sangharsh Samiti. CBI took up the investigation of FIR No.298-A/94, earlier registered at Police Station Dalanwala, Dehradun.

            It was alleged that on 02.10.1994, Uttrakhand Sangharsh Samiti had organized a rally at Delhi and people from hill areas were proceeding to Delhi on 01.10.1994 to attend the rally. The ralliests were stopped by Police near Rampur Tiraha in Distt. Muzaffarnagar (UP) where incidents of rape, molestation had taken place. A mob of agitators and supporters of Uttrakhand Movement had assembled on 03.10.1994 morning in Karanpur area. On imposition of curfew and seeing the Police, the agitators started running in the bylane towards the residence of the then National Secretary of a Political Party and started pelting stones besides shouting slogans against him. The politician along with other inmates went to the roof top. After seeing the crowd, he called security personnel to the roof top and accordingly accused Madan Singh, Jitendra Kumar, Yashvir Singh and others went to the roof top carrying their firearms and ammunition. Though the mob was at a distance of about 60 yards from his residence & not carrying any firearm and the situation was also not such to warrant firing, Constables Jitender Kumar, Madan Lal, Yashvir Singh & Jaipal Singh fired on the mob after consultation with the said politican. After the firing, when the mob had dispersed, the accused persons took hot water and cleaned their firearms with a view to destroy the evidence of firing from their respective arms. Accused Madan Singh, Jitender Kumar and Jaipal Singh arranged live cartridges to replace the fired cartridges. As a result of firing, one person namely Rajesh Rawat was hit under his nostril and was declared brought dead in hospital. Two persons Rajiv Mohan and Ravinder Rawat were also grievously injured in the firing.

            After thorough investigation,a chargesheet was filed on 06.04.1996 in the court of Special Judicial Magistrate, CBI cases, Dehradun against the said politician; Madan Singh, the then Constable; Jitender Kumar, the then Constable; Yashveer Singh, the then Constable & Jaipal Singh, the then Constable(Also PSO to the said politician).

            The Trial Court found the then four police personnel guilty and convicted them. The said Politician was acquitted by the Court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here