Dr.P.S.N.Rao to be the new Chairman – Government appoints members of Delhi Urban Art Commission

The Ministry of Urban Development has appointed new Chairman and four members of the Delhi Urban Art Commission.Dr.P.S.N.Rao has been appointed as Chairman and Smt.SonaliBhagwati, Ms.SonaliRastogi, Shri Samir Mathur and Shri Durga Shankar Mishra, as members of the Commission. Dr.Rao, an eminent urban planner is currently Head of the Department of Housing, School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi. He studied urban management in Canada.

Mrs.Bhagwati and Ms.Rastogi are practicing architects while Shri Samir Mathur is a landscape architect. Shri Durga Shankar Mishra is Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Urban Development.  Constituted under the provisions of the Delhi Urban Art Commission Act, 1973, the tenure of the new panel will be for three years.

Delhi Urban Art Commission, set up in May, 1974 is mandated with preserving, developing and maintaining the aesthetic quality of urban and environmental design with in Delhi. The Commission scrutinizes various building and engineering proposals from the perspective of city aesthetics and advices urban local bodies like the Delhi Development Authority, New Delhi Municipal Committee and the three Municipal Corporations of Delhi. It also initiates studies on development and beautification of any areas in Delhi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here