Wednesday, May 27th, 2020

Department Of Posts Releases a Set of Stamps on Four Princely States of India

INVC,, Delhi,, Department Of Posts released today a set of four stamps on “Princely States of India” as a curtain raiser to INDIPEX 2011, the World Philatelic Exhibition. The exhibition is scheduled to be held during 12th February to 18th February, 2011 at Pragati Maidan in New Delhi.  These stamps were formally released by Ms. Rameshwari Handa Chief Postmaster General, Delhi Circle at Sansad Marg HPO. This set of four commemorative postage stamps depicts the stamps issued by the Princely States- Sirmoor, Indore, Bamra and Cochin. These stamps are both archaic and rare and highly valued by Philatelists all over the world. There were as many as 568 states in India before Independence that ceased to exist after independence. It is relevant to mention here that only forty odd states out of five hundred plus had issued stamps as symbol of their sovereignty. The Postage stamps issued by the states carried the portraits of the kings and princes, regal insignia or symbols. Printed using a variety of methods and colours, the stamps were sometimes overprinted too. However, some of the princely states left a legacy which is valuable in philatelic circle. This is the second set of the series as the first set of  six stamps on Heritage Postal Buildings comprising of Delhi GPO, Shimla GPO, Udagmandalm Head Post Office, Coochbehar HPO, Nagpur GPO and Lucknow GPO , were released on 12.5.2010 . The objective was to showcase the rich heritage of India Post to the World. Two photographs of the stamps and event are given below. These stamps and the First Day Cover have been designed by Sh. Kamleshwar Singh.



Users Comment

Crewneck Sweater, says on November 14, 2010, 5:24 PM

Good Post. It is truly a very great article. I noticed all your important points. Many thanks!