Beijing – : China, as a key member of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa), views this international alliance as an “open and inclusive” platform. During a recent media briefing, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesperson Mao Ning expressed China’s support for expanding the BRICS grouping with “like-minded partners.” This statement comes in response to reports suggesting that India is pushing for an agreement on the process of expanding BRICS.

BRICS, an acronym for the five emerging economies, plays a significant role in global politics and the shifting dynamics of power. With China’s emphasis on inclusivity, the country is open to welcoming more nations that share the common goals and principles of the BRICS family.

The interest in joining BRICS has grown considerably, with numerous countries expressing their desire to become part of this influential alliance. According to media reports, as many as 19 countries have shown interest in joining the BRICS grouping. These countries include Argentina, Nicaragua, Mexico, Uruguay, Nigeria, Algeria, Egypt, Senegal, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Turkiye, Syria, Iran, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Thailand, Kazakhstan, and Bangladesh.

Expanding BRICS beyond its current member countries has both potential benefits and challenges. It can lead to enhanced economic cooperation, increased geopolitical influence, and a broader representation of emerging markets. However, the process of expansion requires careful consideration of various factors, such as the economic stability and compatibility of prospective members, political alignment, and regional dynamics.

The existing BRICS member countries—Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa—represent a significant portion of the global population, GDP, and trade. Collectively, they account for 41 percent of the world’s population, 24 percent of the global GDP, and 16 percent of global trade. These statistics highlight the substantial influence that BRICS holds on the global stage.

The upcoming BRICS summit, scheduled to take place in South Africa in August, holds immense importance for the future of the alliance. It is expected to provide a platform for further discussions and deliberations on the expansion of BRICS. The summit will serve as an opportunity for member countries to solidify their shared interests and goals while also considering the potential new entrants.

The interest shown by various countries in joining BRICS raises questions about the potential implications of expansion. The geopolitical landscape could witness significant changes, with the inclusion of more nations representing diverse regions and interests. The expanded BRICS grouping may foster collaborations and partnerships, leading to new avenues for economic growth, technological advancements, and cultural exchanges.

However, expanding BRICS is not without its challenges. The alliance faces criticism for its varying economic strengths, political differences, and internal conflicts among member countries. Furthermore, the expansion process requires careful evaluation to ensure that prospective members align with the core principles and objectives of BRICS.

In conclusion, BRICS is regarded as an important platform for cooperation and development. China, a major player within BRICS, supports the expansion of the alliance and encourages the inclusion of like-minded partners. The interest expressed by numerous countries in joining BRICS demonstrates the alliance’s appeal and potential. As the next BRICS summit approaches, discussions surrounding expansion will take center stage, paving the way for an even more influential and diverse BRICS family.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What is BRICS?
    BRICS stands for Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. It is an alliance of five emerging economies that aims to promote cooperation, economic growth, and political influence.
  2. Why is China supportive of expanding BRICS?
    China sees BRICS as an “open and inclusive” platform and believes that expanding the alliance with like-minded partners can enhance its objectives and influence on the global stage.
  3. Which countries have expressed interest in joining BRICS?
    According to reports, 19 countries, including Argentina, Nicaragua, Mexico, Uruguay, Nigeria, Algeria, Egypt, Senegal, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Turkiye, Syria, Iran, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Thailand, Kazakhstan, and Bangladesh, have shown interest in joining BRICS.
  4. What are the benefits of expanding BRICS?
    Expanding BRICS can lead to increased economic cooperation, geopolitical influence, and representation of emerging markets. It provides an opportunity for countries to collaborate on various fronts, fostering growth and development.
  5. What challenges does BRICS face in its expansion?
    BRICS expansion poses challenges such as economic compatibility, political alignment, and regional dynamics. The alliance must carefully evaluate potential members to ensure alignment with its core principles and objectives.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here