Central Government Grants Employees 14 New Holidays


New Delhi : Know all about the latest update from the Government of India as the Central Government has introduced 14 mandatory holidays and three optional holidays for its employees. Get complete information about the details of this new order of DoPT and know everything about the new system in leave options .

Central Government Employees: Exciting News About 14 Mandatory Holidays!

The Central Government has recently announced a significant update for its employees, bringing joy and relief. In the following sections, we’ll delve into the details of this announcement, providing a comprehensive guide to the 14 compulsory holidays and three optional holidays that Central Government Employees can now enjoy.

Details of the Announcement

The recent order outlines a new holiday structure, offering employees the benefit of 14 compulsory holidays along with three optional holidays. The flexibility provided through these optional holidays is a thoughtful addition, allowing employees to tailor their time off based on personal preferences.

Compulsory Holidays List

Let’s explore the list of 14 compulsory holidays, each with its unique cultural and historical significance. From Republic Day to Diwali, these holidays are integral to our diverse heritage, offering employees a chance to celebrate and rejuvenate.

  1. Ganatantara Diwas
  2. Swatantrata Diwas
  3. Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
  4. Buddha Purnima
  5. Christmas Day
  6. Dussehra (Vijay Dashami)
  7. Diwali (Deepavali)
  8. Good Friday
  9. Guru Nanak Jayanti
  10. Eid (Meethi Eid)
  11. Mahavir Jayanti
  12. Muharram
  13. Prophet Mohammad’s Birthday (Eid-e-Milad)
  14. Holi

Optional Holidays List

In addition to the compulsory holidays, employees can choose two holidays from a list of 12 optional holidays. These include festivals like Holi, Janmashtami, and Independence Day, providing a personalized touch to the holiday experience.

  1. Holi
  2. Janmashtami
  3. Ram Navami
  4. Maha Shivaratri
  5. Ganesh Chaturthi
  6. Onam
  7. Pongal
  8. Saraswati Puja (Vasant Panchami)
  9. Vishu / Baisakhi / Vaishakhi / Bihu / Mashadi Ugadi
  10. Chaitra Shukladi / Cheti Chand / Gudi Padwa / Pratham Navratra
  11. Chhath Puja / Karva Chauth
  12. Gadgeted Holidays (Republic Day, Holi, Good Friday, Eid-ul-Fitr, Ram Navami, Mahavir Jayanti, Buddha Purnima, Eid-ul-Zuha, Muharram, Independence Day, Janmashtami, Christmas Day)

Impact on Work-Life Balance

The addition of these holidays aims to enhance the work-life balance of Central Government Employees. Recognizing the importance of downtime for employee well-being, the government’s decision reflects a commitment to the holistic development of its workforce.

Procedure for Opting Optional Holidays

To exercise their choice, employees can follow a straightforward process to select two optional holidays that align with their preferences. This ensures a fair and transparent system, allowing everyone the opportunity to tailor their holiday schedule.

Special Considerations for Delhi and New Delhi Offices

Employees working in the capital cities will observe the holidays mentioned in the order. This section provides specific details about the holidays in Delhi and New Delhi, addressing any unique considerations for these offices.

Dependence on Lunar Calendar for Some Holidays

Certain holidays in the list are dependent on the lunar calendar. Understanding this dependence adds depth to the appreciation of these holidays, highlighting the rich cultural tapestry that influences the holiday schedule.

Employee Feedback and Reactions

We take a moment to gauge the reactions of Central Government Employees to this announcement. Their feedback, whether positive or expressing concerns, provides valuable insights into how these changes are perceived.

Government’s Rationale Behind the Decision

Delving into the government’s reasoning behind this decision, we explore the broader goals and benefits the government aims to achieve with this new holiday policy.

Comparison with Previous Holiday Policies

A brief comparison with the previous holiday policy allows us to appreciate the improvements and changes introduced. This section sheds light on how the new policy enhances the overall holiday experience for employees.

FAQs About the New Holiday Policy

Q1: Can I change my selected optional holidays later in the year?

Yes, you can modify your optional holiday choices during the year based on your preferences. The process for changing selections will be communicated by the respective authorities.

Q2: Are there any restrictions on taking consecutive days off with optional holidays?

While there are no strict restrictions, the availability of consecutive days off will depend on the overall operational requirements of your office. It’s advisable to plan in advance and coordinate with your team.

Q3: How are optional holidays determined each year?

The list of optional holidays is typically announced at the beginning of the year, considering factors like cultural events, festivals, and regional significance.

Q4: What happens if a compulsory holiday falls on a weekend?

If a compulsory holiday coincides with a weekend, employees are usually provided with a compensatory off day to maintain the intended benefit of the holiday.

Q5: Are these changes applicable to all Central Government Employees, regardless of their location?

Yes, the new holiday policy is applicable to all Central Government Employees, ensuring consistency across locations.

14 compulsory holiday

In conclusion, the introduction of 14 compulsory holidays and three optional holidays for Central Government Employees marks a positive step toward fostering a healthy work-life balance. The government’s thoughtful approach in considering employee well-being is commendable, and it is anticipated that this new policy will contribute to a more rejuvenated and motivated workforce.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here