images (15)INVC,


Delhi is all set for a power packed day as the counting for the Delhi assembly polls taking  place today.

Accepting a crushing defeat Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit sends her resignation to Lt Governor Najeeb Jung at around 11:56 AM.

BJP leading the race with 35 seats BJP is clearly leading the race in 35 seats and AAP continues to maintain the lead ahead of Congress in 24 seats. AAP member Manish Sisodia, who is leading from the Patparganj constituency said that AAP sensational debut was expected. “If no government is formed, fresh polls will be the answer to form a stable government. We will not support either the BJP or the Congress,” he said.  BJP reaches majority mark BJP reaches majority by leading in 36 seats. Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit trailing by 6,700 votes. AAP leading in 21 seats. Delhi BJP CM candidate Harshvardhan is leading in Krishna Nagar constituency over 14,000 votes. 11.25 am: BJP just one seat away from winning majority BJP leading in 35 seats, AAP leading in 24 seats.

Omar Abdullah hit out at AICC vice president Rahul Gandhi over poll defeat. “Populist schemes don’t fetch votes,” Abdullah said.

Here in AAP HQ,  members and volunteers are celebrating AAP’s lead in 25 seats. Party volunteers are in a celebration mood and are seen waving the jhaadu. Loud cheering is heard when they hear Kejriwal is leading in the New Delhi constituency. With a splendid debut the AAP has managed to upset the BJP, who was expecting to win with majority votes. However experts are now saying that there are two ways that a government can be formed. Either the BJP needs to form an alliance with the AAP or the Congress joins hands with the AAP and the other parties. BJP leaders are saying that to get a clear picture of the exact number of votes one needs to wait for another few hours.

Is Delhi staring at Hung Assembly? BJP leading in 32 seats, AAP leading in 25 seats and Congress leading in 11 seats. Experts say Delhi is heading towards a hung assembly. BJP spokerson Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said that it was too early to speak about the government in Delhi. Naqvi also said that an alliance with AAP was still not on the charts. However he did praise the AAP saying that ‘AAP had proven itself in the elections, which should be accepted by all.’

AAP plays spoilsport for BJP AAP ahead of BJP in Seemapuri with 8,00 votes. BJP leading in 33 seats, AAP leading in 24 seats, Congress trailing with 9 seats. Arvind Kejriwal ahead of Sheila Dikshit with 1,426 votes in New Delhi constituency.  Reports suggest that Harshvardhan is leading from Krishna Nagar constituency, whereas AAP is eating into many reserved seats in Delhi.

AAP confident of winning AAP member Kumar Vishwas said that the Delhi today will witness a new government today. “It will be a government for the next 20 years. People have chosen the AAP,” he said.

Harshvardhan says: I’ll just go to collect the certificate BJP’s CM candidate Harshvardhan was boasting with confidence and said that he would go and collect the final certificate. “We are confident of winning and we will win with a majority. I am confident we will win 40 seats” he said. According to news reports, victory posters were seen at the party headquarters. He even rubbished the poaching claims made by the AAP saying that ‘Kejriwal was no competition at all.’

But Kejriwal keeps mum on results AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal refused to comment on the poll results but said that the BJP had approached him and other AAP members. “I was getting SMSes till last night from many BJP leaders. BJP also approached seven AAP members, but they informed us,” he said. When asked to name the BJP leaders who approached the party, Kejriwal said that they would not resort to dirty politics like the BJP does. “Why should I name them. Let us wait for the results,” he said. He also said that AAP members won’t speak till the results were out. Kejriwal made it clear that it will not form an alliance with either the BJP or the Congress. He said: “This is not AAP’s fight but the people’s fight.” As the party leaders headed out for their respective headquarters, reports suggested that BJP Leaders’ car crossed the AAP leaders car in opposite direction on the AIIMS Flyover.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here