Close X
Tuesday, January 19th, 2021

 All nations need to come together and formulate a mechanism to address energy needs

International Solar Alliance announces ISA Solar Awards 2020

·         International Solar Alliance (ISA) announces Solar Awards to honor innovation and invention in the field of solar energy.

·         Haryana and Karnataka institute awards in collaboration with ISA; Diwakar award instituted by Minister Goyal.

·         Dean, Fletcher School, Tufts University, Ms Rachel Kyte chairs the Awards Committee


The International Solar Alliance (ISA) has successfully institutionalized ISA Solar Awards to recognize distinguished scientists and organizations that excel in providing affordable, reliable and sustainable solar energy. The ISA Solar Awards will promote ISA’s agenda of addressing the energy access needs and energy security issues in a green and clean manner by facilitating massive deployment of solar technology at an affordable cost and enhance participation of individuals, institutions and companies in the sector. The objectives of these awards are to encourage the contributions and progress in bringing scalable solutions to the forefront, to inspire a shift in the approach towards affordable clean energy and to activate work towards development in the field of solar energy, whilst providing the necessary platform for incubation to emerging innovations in the field.

The details of the awards and the application process is available on the Official ISA Portal, The application forms will be evaluated by a screening committee followed by an International Awards Committee, comprising of high- level dignitaries and leaders from the renewable energy sector. Ms. Rachel Kyte, Dean, The Fletcher School, Tufts University will lead as the Chair of the Awards Committee.

The ISA Solar Awards will showcase 3 award categories:

1.      ISA Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award

The Government of Haryana, India has institutionalised the ISA Kalpana Chawla Haryana Solar Award to reward the best scientist, engineer or technologist who is actively involved in innovation, R&D, development and deployment of path-breaking technologies in the field of solar energy.

2.      ISA Karnataka Visvesvaraya Solar Award

The Government of Karnataka, India has set up the ISA Karnataka Visvesvaraya Solar Award to recognize an organisation for its contribution in developing or implementing the best floating solar project.


3.      ISA Diwakar Solar Award

The ISA Diwakar Solar Award has been established with the gracious support of Shri. Piyush Goyal, Hon’ble Minister of Railways, Government of India. This award is for organizations run for children with special needs, that have adopted solar energy applications or run on power derived from solar energy to encourage the value of an inclusive society.

“The world is at a critical juncture now and is staring at an uncertain future in terms of energy production. All nations need to come together and formulate a mechanism to address energy needs through clean & sustainable methods like Solar. Combined efforts by the nations will form the pillar of a successful solar revolution. The ISA awards are an opportunity to recognize the brilliant minds who are not only doing exemplary work in the field of Solar Energy, but also set an example and inspire other individuals, institutions and nations to follow.”, said Shri Upendra Tripathy, Director General, International Solar Alliance (ISA).





Users Comment